Soaring Above The Clouds

Album for the Young


  • Brand: Walking Frog Records
  • Year: 2012

The Washington Winds, Edward S. Petersen, conductor

Contains 32 outstanding compositions written expressly for younger musicians by prominent band music composers including James Swearingen, David Shaffer, Matt Conaway, Rob Romeyn, Larry Neeck, Robert W. Smith, John Wasson, Andrew Glover, Len Orcino, Travis Weller, Jeremy Bell and Todd Philips. A wonderful way for young players to hear music they are working on being performed to the highest standards for phrasing, intonation, tone quality and general musicality by The Washington Winds conducted by Edward S. Petersen. An exceptional teaching tool!

CONTENTS: Fanfare for the Unsung Hero (Conaway); Reflections of Asia (Phillips); Hail America! Concert March (Richards/arr. Glover); A Dark and Stormy Night (Romeyn); The Black Eagles (J. Bell); Follow the Star (Huckeby); And Then There Were Drums (Neeck); Cats’ Night Out (Phillips); Prelude on a German Hymnsong (Conaway); A Peaceful Christmas (Swearingen); Elephants from “Carnival of the Animals” (Saint-Saens/arr. Conaway); Olde English Hymn (Swearingen); Winds of a New Day (Weller); The Twelve Songs of Christmas (Shaffer); Escape From Krypton (R. W. Smith); Amazing Grace (arr. Shaffer); I Bought Me A Band (Weller); Riptide (Shaffer); Jingle Bones (Glover); Hobbit Dance (Orcino); When the Wind Whispers (Romeyn); Procession of the Gladiators (Neeck); A Christmas Rose (Wasson); Chillaxin’ (Conaway); Ascension Fanfare for Band (Swearingen); Abide With Me (arr. R. W. Smith); Dominance A Fanfare for Band (Conaway); Colors of Christmas (R. W. Smith); Soaring Above The Clouds (Swearingen); Frenzy (Shaffer); Walking the Planks (R. W. Smith); Vivo Galop (Kiefer/arr. Glover)

All prices are in US dollars and are subject to change without notice SKU: WFR377 Categories: ,