The Dance

(Mvt. 1 from "Three Conversations with Matisse")

Robert W. Smith

  • Grade: 4.5
  • Time: 5:12
  • Series: RWS Symphony Band Series
  • Brand: RWS Music Company
  • Year: 2022

Inspired by the paintings of impressionist Henri Matisse and featuring the alto saxophone, “The Dance” is the first movement of “Three Conversations With Matisse.” Along with the well known Matisse painting of the same name, this unique musical statement can be described as forbidding, menacing, tribal and ritualistic. Written for the accomplished saxophone soloist, the band accompaniment is well within the technical range of most high school, university and community ensembles. A powerful and welcome addition to the saxophone and concert band repertoire!

Product SKU Price Quantity
Full set RWS-2203-00 $120.00
Extra full score RWS-2203-01 $15.00
Oversized, spiral-bound score RWS-2203-75 $25.00
All prices are in US dollars and are subject to change without notice Categories: ,